Estrogen Corner: Rebecca Roberts – Super Bowl 2012 Edition

Posted: February 4, 2012 by Dan Condie in Denver Broncos, New England Patriots, New York Giants, NFL, Super Bowl

It’s time again for another edition of Estrogen Corner.

With me again is the lovely, brilliant and, obviously, female Rebecca Roberts.

Rebecca has joined me in the past to talk about the Broncos during their time of struggle with Josh McDaniels and first starting Tim Tebow.

To gain a different prospective on Super Bowl LXVI, I caught up with Rebecca and had a one on one Q&A.

Dan Condie – Between the Patriots and Giants, what will be the determining factor in the game tomorrow?

Rebecca Roberts – Defense, all the way. We already know that (Eli) Manning and (Tom) Brady are both stand out quarterbacks who have some big targets. Gronk (Rob Gronkowski), (Wes) Welker, (Victor) Cruz, (Hakeem) Nicks etc.. So the question will be which defense can show up and stop the big gains?

DC – What role will Gronkowski play if the ankle is around 70%, like most analysts anticipate?

RR – He is a beast and if his ankle is 70%, it might as well be 100%. He will, without a doubt, play and he will be a major factor for the Patriots. I would say he contributes two to three touchdowns.

DC – If Eli is able to pull off the victory, how much will it do for his reputation as an elite QB?

RR – I think, unfortunately, it will cement him as one of the greats. But I don’t think it will be deserved. Yes, he is a great QB, but look at the teams he has had surrounding him this year and when he won the 2008 Super Bowl. And, let’s not forget the freak Tyree catch. So, does he deserve to be recognized as a great QB? Yes, but will he deserve all the hype and deserve being called greater than Peyton (Manning)? Um, no.

DC – If Tom Brady can win Super Bowl LXVI in convincing fashion, where does he rank among the all-time great NFL quarterbacks?

RR – Ugh, I want to hate Tom Brady, I really do. But, if he wins this game, in my mind, he will be one of the top 10 greatest.

DC – Top 10?! Who do you feel are the top 5 QB’s in NFL history?

RR – (John) Elway, (Joe) Montana, (Dan) Marino, (Steve) Young and, gag me, I’ll never admit this again, (Brett) Favre.

DC – (laughing) Okay. On a closer note, how do you feel about the Tim Tebow situation going forward in Denver?

RR – I think everyone knows I was one of the biggest Tebow doubters of all time. However, I am a huge Broncos fan and was totally stoked with the way our season ended. I did get very annoyed that no one was talking about our incredible defense and was giving Tebow all the credit, though.

I am anxious to see Tebow after he actually has an off-season and (John) Elway has been able to work with him. Am I convinced he was the chosen one and is the answer to our problems? No. But I am excited about the progress he made and hope he continues to improve.

DC – How would you feel if Denver were to make a move to pick up a veteran QB in the off-season? Say, Peyton Manning?

RR – That is a tough one. Obviously, no one is going to complain if Peyton Manning is their team’s QB. However, I am looking for a team that can be great for the next ten years, not just have one great season with a QB who is on his way out. I would almost prefer them to make some moves and get a younger talent that can develop into the next big thing and be a franchise player.

DC – Do you think there is a QB in this year’s draft below Andrew Luck and Robert Griffin III that would fill that need?

RR – I think Luck could be over time but he won’t come out and be an all-time great right away. He needs to not be so anxious to win right away and take a cue from (Aaron) Rodgers and sit back. Learn the game and give it time.

DC – Do you see the Broncos as the “cream” of the AFC West going forward? Did Denver luck out with Kansas City injuries?

RR – Denver lucked out with Kansas City and Oakland injuries and also with Phillip Rivers pulling a Max Hall and forgetting which team he was supposed to throw to. I don’t think Denver is the cream of the crop, but I think they are definitely a team to be feared moving forward.

DC – Okay, in closing, who do you like in Super Bowl LXVI? Score prediction?

RR – Like I said, it will be a defensive battle and I believe the Giants will be too much for the Patriots’ defense to handle. Giants 24-21 over New England.

DC – Thank you. As always, you know your stuff.

Comments
  1. Dan Condie says:

    Great Job Rebecca. Hope that you and Dan enjoy watching the game today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

