Taking a look back: Top 3 Feel-Good Moments of Last Season

Posted: July 16, 2011 by Dan Condie in NCAA Football

I love watching old tapes and highlights of “The Moment.” That game changing, spectacular play where the stadium erupts and the crowd goes insane with joy. Last year featured just a few of those moments that stuck with me.

Here are the top 3 highlights of my college football season last year:

3. Utah State gets big win over BYU.

Now, my Y fan friends will tell you I put this video up in spite of them. This couldn’t be closer to the truth, as I am included in the crowd-stormed field… It’s not that it’s unprovoked, with all the trash talk I’ve heard creepin’ up from the south about your ESPN deal that’s earned you all this exposure. Yes, everyone will be watching. Hey, remind me. What channel broadcast this fiasco? Ooo ESPN prime-o. I’ll take beating Utah State by 30 like usual on “Versus” if I’m being honest…

2. Boise State blowing their chance at the perfect season and a BCS bowl game Against Underdog Nevada.

No explanation needed there folks. I haven’t liked Boise State since the Oklahoma game of ’06 made the media yank Boise off of our coat tails and Cinderella’d them up. They made Boise State the face of the Non-AQ teams. I would argue Utah’s ’08 season is more impressive than any Boise produced, or that TCU has outclassed the Broncos most recently. This game symbolized a huge moment where Boise was not the underdog, but the titan, and they were defeated. I love it.

1. November 27th, 2010.

That’s it. The Block. It’s infamous. It’s celebrated. It’s despised. It’s beloved. It capped off Utah’s last Mountain West Conference game and I can’t think of a better way to cap that era. Utah wins, BYU loses.

Now, I have this season to look forward to. Let’s hope the Utes can find at least one spot on there next year…I hope so anyway.

Leave a Reply

